India, Pakistan Join the Shanghai Cooperation Organization

Quotes and Quotas is a weekly digest of phrases and facts that help explain Asia’s infrastructure push.

The Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) is an intergovernmental body formed in 2001 to help resolve border disputes between its members. Since then, its agenda has expanded to include a variety of regional economic and security initiatives. Current members include China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, and Uzbekistan. On June 8, the organization is expected to admit India and Pakistan as full members at its summit in Astana. This expands the organization’s economic and military footprint, but could also produce more friction.

SCO Statistics

Sources: Correlates of War, Stockholm International Peace Research Institute, United Nations, World Bank

Have something quote-worthy? Share it with us @ReconAsia